CSA vegetables

Community supported agriculture vegetables

“What is that?” . Simply put, you help an organic farm by purchasing their harvest at the beginning of the season. In return, for the entire summer you get a share of the vegetables they grow and harvest every week. Buying at the beginning of a season means you don’t know what you’re getting into, if the season is bad then your share will be small but if the season is good the reverse is also true.

Why would you want to participate in this program? There is a loaded question if there ever was one. Talk about organic food and farming and you get responses from “why would I care the food at the grocery store is fine”, to “it’s all BS your just paying more money for no reason”. If you’re looking for the ultimate pro’s book try the Omnivores dilemma for my reason keep reading.

I’ve been part of the program now for 10 years and can’t imagine anymore not getting my weekly goodies basket and of all the luck my farm has them year round. I initially did it because I was militant (oh the naiveté of the young), no GMO, no pesticides, help the poor organic farmers, poor animals. Now, unless I went to the farmers market every week; I simply wouldn’t get the variety and freshness of a CSA box. Sure there is a risk if the season is poor but that is one of the reasons to participate. I’m sure some of our grandma’s remember a time when poor seasons meant less food on the table or less variety. I like the reminder that things were not always as easy as going to a grocery store to pick up fruits from across the world.

If you haven’t noticed yet, I could go on and on about this but will instead leave you with a few websites to visit for more information and a promise to tell you more about CSA in an upcoming post.

http://www.equiterre.org/projet/agriculture-soutenue-par-la-communaute (in French only)
http://www.coopbiopaysanne.ca/ (French only)
http://www.jardinsdelamontagne.com/ (French only, this is the farm I partner with)
http://www.localharvest.org/csa/ (US based)

One thought on “CSA vegetables

Leave a Reply

