Pictureless but I was under duress – Cheesecake

Quite some time ago, I had a short lived (my waistline was thankful) cheesecake phase. I made this one twice, once for just us three and another time for Cousin’s Bday party. One of his friends, the one of the flaming hair has since been harassing cousin and I for the recipe. Here it is finally, the best ever cheesecake…

Deluxe Cheesecake
Southern Living Cookbook

You’ll need a 9-inch springform pan with 3-inch sides

2 cups graham cracker crumbs
1/2 cup butter, melted
2 tablespoons sugar
4 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese, softened
1 3/4 cup sugar
7 large eggs
3 (8-ounce) containers sour cream
1 tablespoon vanilla

Combine first 3 ingredients; stir well. Press mixture firmly on bottum and sides of a lightly greased 9-inch springform pan with 3-inch sides. Chill thoroughly.
Beat cream cheese at medium-high speed with a heavy duty stand mixer until fluffy. Gradually add 1 3/4 cups sugar, beating well. Add eggs, 1 at a time, beating after each addition. Add sour cream and vanilla; beat at low speed until smooth. Pour batter into prepared pan.
Bake at 300F for 1 hour and 25 minutes. Turn off oven, and leave cheesecake in oven 4 hours. (Do not open oven door.)
Remove from oven; cool completely on a wire rack. Cover and chill 8 hours. Remove sides of springform pan before serving. Store in refrigerator.
Yield: 12 servings or in our case 3…

Shoot now I need to make another one of these to take a picture.

Another anecdote about this cake, Honey and I went to Charleston during spring to visit his family and by chance I had the recipe with me (hummm… I was kinda told I might need it). After a few days the entire family was informed that I knew how to make cheesecake and they thoughtfully brought over to the cottage (a rental) the equipement needed to make  it. Well, actually, they all said I didn’t need to make but they were all so wonderful I really wanted to do it. I was just thankful that it appeared to live up to the hype and turned out really good.

No variations proposed, I was interdicted from messing with perfection… maybe it’s my fault, I have this habit of first trying a recipe as is before meddling with it…

Leave a Reply

