Chocolate Zucchini Cake

I still remember the first time I tasted this cake more than 20 years ago. It was a family party at a friend’s in a summer long past. This cake was probably one of many dessert options but this is the only one I remember, a moist chocolatey cake served with homemade whip cream. I got the recipe and this cake promptly became a favorite with our family as well.

I had not made it in year, the last few times, I would either end up eating an entire cake in a week… yep I admit it, I made it my dinner a few times or I would give it out as quickly as possible. 

These days, I doubt having it for dinner or giving it away will be necessary, this cake disappeared in a few days between the three of us. I hope you try it and it becomes a family fave for you too.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake

4 oz bittersweet chocolate
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup butter softened
3 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 cups flour
1/2 cup cocoa
2 ts baking powder
2 ts baking soda
1 ts salt
1/2 cup milk
3 cups grated zucchini

Grease two 8-inch cake pans.
Preheat oven to 350F
Melt the chocolate in oil and set aside.
Cream the butter and sugar, add eggs one at a time and add vanilla.
Mix all the dry ingredients in another bowl.
Start adding the flour mixture to the butter sugar alternating with milk, mix well between each addition.
Add the grated zucchini and mix.
Pour evenly in the two prepared cake pans.
Bake for 50 minutes and check for doneness. Insert a toothpick or a knife in the middle of the cake, if it comes out clean cake is ready.

TIP: I don’t always want to take the cake out of the oven to check it and I prefer a toothpick to a knife check. I often use a bamboo skewer it gives be enough reach and works just as well as a toothpick.

Ice with your favorite icing.

Leave a Reply

