Acorn Squash

Acorn Squash

We get these in the CSA basket a few times over the winter. I never really know what to do with them. They are a little small for soup, plus peeling them and roasting them would be a pain even if there are only two of them. What to do, well, I have been roasting them along side other diner items, meat, potatoes or whatever else is in the oven. I know, I could fill them with meat or cereal but somehow they just don’t inspire me that much.

Still, I made a small change to the roasting flavors and for a little while it won’t be a chore to eat these and not sure I’ll want to find a different way to make these for a while. What’s the big secret, Ginger! A few slivers thrown in on a whim have changed my view of these squashes. There is to recipe to follow, but if you insist here goes:

Acorn squash cut in half and cleaned of seeds. Scrape with a spoon is the easiest.

Butter a little or a lot your choice, put in the hollow.

sugar, brown sugar, maple syrup or maple sugar, honey, rapadura whatever you like sprinkle or baste all over.

salt, pepper

and don’t forget Ginger, I’m lazy I put in shavings but grated would work. How much a little if your unsure a lot if you love ginger.

Roast along side whatever else you have in the oven till soft.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

