BWJ – Irish Soda Bread

Irish Soda Bread

Ingredient list, short, precisely 4 items, flour, baking soda, buttermilk and salt that’s it, that all. Well ok, you can see that I decided to make it five, raisins, well make that six butter. Not much butter just 1 tablespoon. I hoped that maybe the recipe note,which says that since there is no fat in the recipe that it would turn into a Blarney stone at the end of the day, was a hint. Add fat and no Blarney stone. Did it work? I can’t say, I made half the recipe, worrying about ending up with half a stone of wasted food by the end of the day. What happened, we ate it all for breakfast which was in retrospect perfect. I guess I have to try again, someday.

The only trick I can give for this recipe is to treat it almost like a scone, barely stir, barely knead and it comes out great. Fuss at it too much and Blarney stone you’ll get butter or no butter. If you still see streaks of flour don’t worry, it’ll come out great in the end.

Honestly I yawned through this whole recipe. I am glad we have a bit more of a challenge next month with Pizza Rustica and Lemon loaf.

For more inspired stories or maybe the recipe please visit this month’s hosts: Carla from Chocolate Moosey or Cathleen from My culinary mission

cut up and ready for butter
16 thoughts on “BWJ – Irish Soda Bread

  1. Ours lasted quite well, too. I suppose if you left it sitting out on the counter it might become stone-like, but well-wrapped it was fine.

  2. This made me think of a big scone as well…
    It was nice to have an easier one thrown in there – although next month’s don’t sound too difficult either.

  3. I made one withadded fat and one without–they both kept for two days. They might have kept even longer if they weren’t gone in 48 hours.

Leave a Reply

