BWJ – Lemon Loaf Cake

Lemon Loaf Cake
Lemon Loaf Cake

Eating some now, hot out of the oven and with the added lemon glaze this lemon loaf is really quite good. I was over the moon about making this cake. Not because of the loaf, though with 4 eggs, lemon and butter it looked like a winner though maybe a little light on the lemon. No, what got me so excited was that I was finally getting a new stove. My old one was no longer heating properly and baked good were getting to be either gooey or over cooked or flat or undercooked. So I waited and waited all day for my new oven so that the first thing I could do with it was the TWD project.

Now if you look at the slices you’ll see that the outside is quite golden, maybe even a little browned. I’ll have to watch out for overcooking instead of undercooking. Next thing on the list to try is the convection bake and then the proof function and also baking bread. My bread wasn’t getting much lift anymore since the oven was too cold.

A slice of Lemon Loaf Cake
A slice of Lemon Loaf Cake

 Back to the lemon loaf you say, well not much to report, easy peasy. If you like your lemon loaf very lemony add a glaze. Otherwise, as is it would probably be really good for piling on strawberries and cream or to make a nice trifle.

If you want to see more lemon loaves and ideas please visit this weeks hosts: Truc of Treats and Michelle of The Beauty of Life

Guess what I'm most excited about...
20 thoughts on “BWJ – Lemon Loaf Cake

  1. I desperately want a new stove so I am jealous. Congratulations though! We have a convection one at work and it’s nice to be able to bake two sheets of cookies and know you don’t have to worry about the one closest to the heating element. Have fun playing with your new toy!

  2. Congrats on the new stove! As a student, I lived in a place for a short time that didn’t have a working oven and I was miserable about it. Baking was a stress-reliever even back then.

    Trifle sounds like an excellent use for this loaf. Reading through everyone’s posts today is making me want to bake a few more of these loaves, just to try all the variations and serving ideas.

  3. Oh, I’m so happy for you! I need a new stove soon, mine is well used and I’m ready to upgrade.
    The lemon loaf was dellicious.
    Enjoy you new oven.

  4. Congrats on the new oven. Having the right appliances makes life so much easier. I finally got a new refrigerator a few months ago & I still can’t get over how nice it is to have ice cream that is actually FROZEN (and not half melted) all the time…

    Happy baking!

  5. Aren’t new ovens fabulous ! I got mine about 3 months ago and still getting use to the convection feature,didn’t try it with my loaf this time. Nice job, I went with strawberries for mine .

  6. I love your new stove. I’d be very excited to use it as well. New kitchen appliances are always exciting.

Leave a Reply

