BWJ – Hungarian Shortbread

Hungarian Shortbread

I feel like this post should come with a warning, flashing lights and orange cones, move along if you have no will or self-control in the face of buttery cookies. These are buttery in all the best ways, crumbly and sweet and so good that if you’re watching what you eat, you need to padlock the rest or do like I did and give  away as much of it as possible.

Of course, keep enough to satisfy so that you’re not tempted to make this again until you’ve reached your weight goal. Then again, maybe you are lucky and you can eat all the cookies you want and not suffer any consequences. If so go bake these and have a few for me.

The recipe is actually really simple to prepare and I think any jam will do the trick if you don’t have rhubarb on hand. I should explain that the recipe calls for a fresh vanilla rhubarb jam. Since it’s a little early here for rhubarb, I used a good apricot jam that was waiting for just the right occasion. The trick of grating the dough gave a really nice result, keeping the cookie nice and crumbly. Freeze it well but be warned that you’ll need some muscle if you’re grating by hand.

I followed the advice of a few other bakers in the P & Q and baked the bottom layer for 15 minutes. Honestly, I’m not sure if it made a difference. Otherwise, if you only own a 9 X 13 inch pan like I do, use it. The cookies are plenty thick and there would be no point in getting another pan.

If you want to salivate over more Hungarian Shortbread, please visit our hosts this month at 1 small Kitchen or at The not so exciting adventures of a dabbler…

Enjoy!

Next Month Pecan Sticky Buns, another pount of butter…

12 thoughts on “BWJ – Hungarian Shortbread

  1. I dont know that par baking the bottom crust made a huge difference in mine… it seems like the top layer baked to the same degree as the bottom without the par baking… 🙂 Wont know til next time!

  2. I skipped the par-baking and they seemed to be okay, but I also made my bottom layer a bit thin (by accident). Yours look very elegant!

  3. I totally laughed at your first line…I think a lot of us were thinking the same thing…way too much butter…and yes I shared almost all of them 🙂 I par baked the bottom too and it still seemed a little undercooked compared to the top…I can’t imagine how it would have been without the extra cooking. I enjoyed your post.

  4. This definitely needs a warning sign, I agree! I gave away lots too, and I think next time I will do a half recipe. I wonder how they would taste frozen and defrosted…

  5. With recipes like these (which came out really tasty) we should all start an excercise blog on the non-baking weeks. 🙂

  6. These were fantastic. I’m enjoying hearing about all the different fillings people used for this. Rhubarb took off just at the right time here, so we were able to make the jam – the contrast between the tartness of the rhubarb filling and the sweetness of the shortbread is just heavenly. Looking at yours makes me want to make some more!

Leave a Reply

